Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This tab is accessed from the Layout Manager in Theme Builder 3.0 and above.

The Overview tab shows basic information about a layout such as it's ID, name and description...

Layout Description

The tab has the following options:

Layout ID

Each layout has a unique ID and the ID for the selected layout is shown at the top of the Overview tab. This property of a layout is not editable.

The layout ID is defined when creating a new layout, or importing a backup of an existing layout and is used by several Theme Builder macros (see below) and also the Printable Layout option on the Options Tab.

The following macros use the Layout ID:

  • use-layout macro - when placed in the content of a page or blog post, this macro will override the layout for that page or blog post, optionally latching that layout for subsequent page views
  • menulink macro - the use-layout location allows temporary and latched layout switching when the user clicks the link
  • compound-menuitem macro - the use-layout location allows temporary and latched layout switching when the user clicks the link

The layout ID is also shown in the title bar just above the tabs.

Name

This property allows you to specify a more readable "human friendly" title for the layout. This is used for display purposes, for example when selecting a layout using the Layout Chooser.

Description

This property allows you to add an arbitrary plain-text description for the layout.

This is useful if you need to specify usage guidelines for your layout that Space Administrators will be able to see when using the Layout Chooser.

FAQs

 Is there really no way to change a Layout ID?

You can't change the ID of a layout once it has been defined. However, you can clone a layout (using the Available Layouts toolbar) and define a new ID in that process.

You can then use the Manage Spaces Tab in Theme Administration to filter a list of all spaces to just those using a specific layout and then batch convert them to using the new layout. After that's completed you can then delete the old layout.

 What are the "Use Default..." links?

Read Layout Hierarchy to find out (smile)

See Also

  • No labels