Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Hi Shannon,

I have the following problem and I don't think this is the correct behaviour :

(Using CB 1.5.2)
When I create a space, convert it into a community, apply a permission scheme, everything looks good.
Then, if I want to rollback from the community to a simple space, I click on the "Remove community settings" link in the space admin.
I still have permissions set from my permission scheme when I created the community. If I want to disable a group from viewing the space, and then click on "save", the group remains in the permission as if it was still linked to the permission scheme, and there is nothing I can do to remove the permission. The only way I found was to create a new permission scheme with no permissions inside (no view, edit, just admin), convert my space to a community using this permission scheme, and the permissions are set correctly. I can then remove the community settings to have a simple standard space.

Do you have any clue about this odd behaviour ?

Thanks a lot.

  • No labels

8 Comments

  1. Unknown User (skrebs)

    I've given this a quick test but am unable to reproduce the problem as reported. The only thing I can suggest is to make sure you are removing all of the ticks for permissions from the group you want to remove.

    Once a space has been converted to a community there is no other permission updates that are made by the Bubbles plugin.

    1. Unknown User (scayla)

      Trying to remove confluence-administrators from the permissions of the space.
      This is a space and not a community anymore.
      I've uploaded a sample image about what I did here : http://h.imagehost.org/0657/sample.png

      Everything remains ticked as if I didn't untick anything :/

      1. Unknown User (skrebs)

        Does it work in a space that hasn't previously been a community?

        1. Unknown User (scayla)

          I've just created a space from the dashboard, leaving everything set as default (who can contribute, who can see), and using Builder as theme.
          In the space administration, in the permissions, I can see 'confluence-users' with rights. I just have to untick the view (I tried both : untick the view and untick everything), and the group is completely removed from the permissions.

      2. Unknown User (scayla)

        Replying this post to say that confluence-administrators was a group in the permission scheme who could "admin" the community. As so, everything was ticked when converting the space to a community.

        1. Unknown User (skrebs)

          Is the confluence-administrators group the only one with space admin permission by any chance? If I try to remove the last group or using with space admin permission it gives me an error message on my local install.

          1. Unknown User (scayla)

            Well that's a weiiird behaviour. I'm just unable to reproduce anything I did before. I'll try to review exactly what I did because this problem appears on 2 instances of confluence with the exact same space.
            Could this be because there were pages with edit or view permissions pointing to the group I wanted to remove from the space permission by any chance ?

      3. members of the confluence-administrators group always have permission to view any space ... you should create a separate group which you assign admin permission to, you should then be able to remove that group from the permissions.