Once installed, you'll see a new "Backup Manager" link in the Administration Console:
Click the link to display the main Backup Manager screen showing housekeeping options and a list of current backups.
With default settings, Confluence will create a full backup every night and store it in your backups folder. If you don't delete old backups, you can end up with literally hundreds of backup files eating up disk space.
The Backup Manager provides automatic housekeeping options, disabled by default, which allow you to configure a "Worker" that will delete unwanted backup files at a regular interval.
By default, the worker is disabled and your backups will never be deleted.
To enable the worker, set an interval (eg. "every week") from the drop-down list. The worker will then delete old backups at regular intervals and the table will be updated to show when the worker last deleted backups and when it will next delete backups – Please note that these times will be reset if you restart either Confluence or disable/uninstall the plugin.
The worker decides which backups to delete based on the tasks you set it…
This task, when enabled, instructs the worker to protect a specific number of the most recent backups from deletion.
For example, if you set the value to 5, then the worker will ensure that the 5 most recent backups are not deleted, regardless of the other task settings.
This task, when enabled, instructs the worker to delete any backups older than a specified amount of time, eg. 8 weeks.
This task, when enabled, instructs the worker to limit the number of backup files in your backup folder. For example, if you want to only keep one week of backups set this to 7 which will keep the 7 most recent nightly backups.
This option allows you to set a quota on your backups folder. The worker will delete backups, starting with the oldest first, until the total disk space used by the backups is less than the specified size.
To save your changes, always remember to click the "Update" button. When you click this button the changes will be saved and skulls will appear next to the files in the backup list to indicate which backups would be deleted if the worker processed its tasks at the current time.
At any time, you can click "Run Now" to immediately make the worker process the tasks you have set it, however please note that this will save your settings first which may affect which backups are deleted.
To familiarise yourself with the effects of the various combinations, we suggest setting the worker interval to 'never' and updating the settings. The skulls shown in the file listing at the bottom of the screen will indicate which files would be deleted, based on the current settings, when the worker processes the tasks.
The list of all current backup files in the backups folder is shown below the worker settings: The files are listed in reverse chronological order, with the newest at the top.
Click the filename of a file to download it.
Tick the box next to the files you wish to delete and click the "Delete Selected" button to delete them.
The skulls indicate which backups will be deleted next time the housekeeping worker performs its scheduled tasks. These files are automatically selected for deletion should you wish to manually delete them.
Top of page
Issues and User Questions have been archived in our read-only forums: